OLT News

Members Update – August 2017

August 8, 2017

New Appointments

Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario (ELTO) is pleased to announce the appointment of the following:

Marlene Cashin, ARB, Part-Time Member

Marlene Cashin is a former Director of Professional Development at the Canadian Bar Association/Canadian Corporate Counsel Association, and is also a part-time member of the ERT. Prior to that, she practised environmental law at the Canadian Environmental Law Association and Ecojustice Canada and worked at the Provincial office of Legal Aid Ontario and at several Legal Aid clinics. Ms. Cashin holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from Osgoode Hall Law School, York University.

Joseph Jebreen, ARB, Part-Time Bilingual Member

Joseph Jebreen is a practicing lawyer in Ottawa, and has experience in a wide range of courts and tribunals in the province. He has represented real estate developers, charities and large corporations in property tax exemption applications and property tax appeals under the Assessment Act and the Municipal Act, before the ARB. Mr. Jebreen received his law degree from McGill University in 2007, and has a Master’s of Science degree from the University of Ottawa.

Alan Levy, BON, Part-Time Member

Alan Levy was a part-time member of the ERT and was one of the ERT’s most experienced adjudicators/mediators. His previous law practice focused on litigation, negotiation and mediation. He is a former Vice-Chair of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal and a former member of the Canadian Environmental Law Association. Mr. Levy has a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto.

Rick Makuch, OMB, Full-Time Vice Chair

Rick Makuch brings a wealth of tribunal experience to the Vice-Chair position. Through his work as a member with the Ontario Municipal Board (1998-2006 and 2012-present) and his work in the tribunal sector at the federal level, he has consistently demonstrated an aptitude for impartial adjudication and mediation. Mr. Makuch holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Loyola College and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Ottawa.

Scott McAnsh, ARB, Full-Time Vice Chair

 Scott McAnsh served as a full-time and a part-time member at the ARB for a number of years. Prior to joining the ARB, he was a Staff Lawyer with EcoJustice, a legal clinic within the University of Ottawa. He is a former Enforcement Solicitor with the City of Edmonton Law Branch and was also involved with Law Help Ontario, the Board of Directors of Sierra Club of Canada and the Edmonton Community Legal Clinic as a volunteer lawyer. Mr. McAnsh holds a Bachelor of Science degree (Honours) in Psychology from the University of Waterloo and a Bachelor of Laws degree with distinction from the University of Alberta.

 Laurie Smith, CRB, Part-Time Vice Chair

 Laurie Smith resides in Ottawa and has served as a part-time member of the CRB since 2014. At Carleton University, she serves as the Program Coordinator of the NSERC CREATE Heritage Engineering Program and as the Research Operations Manager of the Immersive Media Studio, which uses emerging digital technologies to support architectural rehabilitation and heritage conservation.

For more details about the public appointment process and ELTO’s current members, please click here.


Between March to July 2017, the following reappointments were made:

  • OMB – Jan Seaborn, Christopher Conti and Mary-Anne Sills (1 year)
  • BON – Marcie Bourassa (3 years) 


As a result of resignations and the expiration of appointments under the 10 year limit, ELTO also said good-bye to the following members:

  • ARB – Andrew Fenus
  • BON – Ian Taylor
  • ERT – Heather McLeod-Killmurray, Alan Levy, Heather Gibbs
  • OMB – Sylvia Sutherland
  • CRB – Marc Denhez, Su Murdoch

ELTO offers best wishes to its departing colleagues.

Increase Font
Decrease Font